Pluto Facts

  • Pluto


    Pluto was considered  the ninth planet for many years until the International Astronomical Union formed the definition of a planet in 2006, it was then declassified to a dwarf planet as it did not fit all the criteria of a planet.  Pluto was first discovered in 1930 and named after the Roman God of the underworld. It is located in the Kuiper belt and has five known moons, Charon, Hydra, Nix, Kerberos and Styx.




    One of Plutos moons Charon, is named after a demon who ferried souls to the underworld in Greek Mythology
    Pluto has not been visited yet but a mission was launched in 2006 and should arrive at Pluto in 2015. The space craft is called New Horizons
    It takes the sun around five hours to reach Pluto but only 8 minutes to reach Earth
    Pluto is the second largest dwarf planet in our solar system
    Charon is almost half the size of Pluto
    Its unknown if Pluto has a magnetic field but because of its slow rotation and small size it is believed to have very little or no magnetic field
    Pluto rotates east to west
    Pluto and Charon are set in a tidal lock meaning the same side of Charon always faces Pluto


  • DATA

    Diameter (Km) 2390

    Mass 1.30900 1022 kilograms

    Density (Kg/m) 1830

    Temperature (C) -223 to - 233

    Distance from sun (Km) 5.9 billion

    Rotation period 153.3 hours

    Length of Day 153.3 hours

    Orbital period 90,588 days

    Number of moons 5

    Magnetic field Unknown

    Ring system No