Dwarf Planet Facts and Information


Dwarf planets are similar to normal planets in that they are round in shape and orbit the sun but unlike planets they are unable to clear their orbital path. Dwarf planets are also smaller than normal planets.

There are five official Dwarf planets, Ceres, Pluto, Haumea, Makemake and Eris. The most famous of these is Pluto which was once classed as a planet but when the Astronomers of the international Astronomical Union changed the definition of what a planet was in 2006 Pluto was declassified to a dwarf planet because it failed to clear its orbit.

Facts about the Dwarf Planets

  • Eris is the largest of the Dwarf planets and Ceres is the smallest
  • There is thought to be around 200 dwarf planets in our solar system although only 5 are officially recognised
  • Cere was the first dwarf planet to be discovered in 1801